COVID-19 Updates

To encourage your friends, family and customers to take the Shop Smart pledge

Posted by ttolliver on

Please encourage your friends, family, and customers to take the Shop Smart pledge by testing "Shop Smart" to 23396 or visiting the website below.

http://www.ufcw.org/coronavirus/shopsmart/

To encourage your friends, family and customers to take the Shop Smart pledge

Posted by ttolliver on

Please encourage your friends, family, and customers to take the Shop Smart pledge by texting "Shop Smart" to 23396 or visiting the website below.

http://www.ufcw.org/coronavirus/shopsmart/

Order of the Commissioner Regarding Grocery Stores

Posted by cbouchie on

IB ImageIB Image

Massachusetts Executive Order for all Grocery & Pharmacy Stores

Posted by ttolliver on

Massachusetts Executive order on mandatory store safety measures (below). Members should take a screen shot on their phone and keep it with them.

IB Image

Vermont State Unemployment Benefits Q&A

Posted by ttolliver on

Vermont

Vermont Department of Labor

Phone:            1-877-214-3330

Website:         https://labor.vermont.gov/covid19

Who qualifies for unemployment?

Most workers who are laid off or unemployed are eligible.  You may also be eligible if:  (1) you have COVID-19; (2) you are following a medical professional or public health official’s direction to self-isolate or quarantine; (3) you are not receiving paid sick leave or other leave from your employer; and (4) your employer has closed because of COVID-19.

When should I file for unemployment?

You should file as soon as possible using the website or phone number listed above.  Vermont has waived the usual requirement that you continue searching for work.

What if I don’t live and work in the same state?

You should file in the state where you work.

What percentage of my pay will be replaced by unemployment benefits?

Your weekly benefit amount is calculated by dividing the total wages you earned in the six months in the last year when you had the highest wages by 45.  For a personalized estimate of your benefits, see this benefit calculator tool:  https://labor.vermont.gov/unemployment-insurance/ui-claimants/calculating-your-ui-benefits.  During the COVID-19 emergency, if you are eligible for benefits you will also receive an additional $600 per week until July 31, 2020.

What if I didn’t lose my job but am being scheduled to work fewer hours?

You can still apply for unemployment.  You will likely receive at least partial unemployment benefits to assist in time loss if you are working part-time when you usually work full-time.

I have a different question about unemployment benefits.

You can look at this page answering some frequently asked questions for additional guidance: https://labor.vermont.gov/covid19/employees.

Who qualifies as an essential employee in Vermont?

For a list of essential workers in Vermont, please see pages 2 and 3 of this document:  https://governor.vermont.gov/sites/scott/files/documents/ADDENDUM%206%20TO%20EXECUTIVE%20ORDER%2001-20.pdf.

What kind of paid sick leave or paid family leave do I get under state or federal law?

The new federal law requires your employer to provide 14 days of paid leave if you have coronavirus or if you are placed in quarantine to care for a family member who has coronavirus.  You must receive at least two-thirds of your wages during that 14-day period.  You may also have rights under the Vermont earned sick time law:  https://labor.vermont.gov/sites/labor/files/doc_library/Earned%20Sick%20time%20new%20platform%202019.pdf.

Connecticut Unemployment Benefits Q&A

Posted by ttolliver on

Connecticut

Connecticut Department of Labor

Phone:            860-263-6975 or 203-455-2653 (for information but not for filing claims)

Website:         https://www.ctdol.state.ct.us/UI-OnLine/index.htm

Who qualifies for unemployment?

Most workers will qualify for unemployment benefits, and during the COVID-19 emergency, eligibility will be determined on a case-by-case basis.  Please see this website for additional information:  http://www.ctdol.state.ct.us/UI-OnLine/unemployedduetocoronavirus.pdf

When should I file for unemployment?

You should file as soon as possible.  Connecticut has waived the normal requirement that you continue searching for work during the COVID-19 emergency.  You can only file for unemployment benefits online at the website listed above.

What if I don’t live and work in the same state?

You should file for unemployment in the state where you work.

What percentage of my pay will be replaced by unemployment benefits?

Your benefit rate is based on the average of the weekly wage you earned during the six months in the past year when you earned the highest wages, up to the current maximum weekly benefit rate of $649.  During the COVID-19 emergency, if you are eligible for benefits you will also receive an additional $600 per week until July 31, 2020.

What if I didn’t lose my job but am being scheduled to work fewer hours?

You can still apply for unemployment.  You will likely receive at least partial unemployment benefits if you are working part-time when you usually work full-time.

I have a different question about unemployment benefits.

You can look at this page answering some frequently asked questions for additional guidance: http://www.ctdol.state.ct.us/DOLCOVIDFAQ.PDF.

Who qualifies as an essential employee in Connecticut?

For a list of essential workers and businesses in Connecticut, please see pages 6-9 of the document at this site:  https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/Coronavirus/COVID-19-FAQs.pdf?la=en.

What kind of paid sick leave or paid family leave do I get under state or federal law?

The new federal law requires your employer to provide 14 days of paid leave if you have coronavirus or if you are placed in quarantine to care for a family member who has coronavirus.  You must receive at least two-thirds of your wages during that 14-day period.  Connecticut also has a paid sick leave law.  For more information, see page 9 of this FAQ site:  http://www.ctdol.state.ct.us/DOLCOVIDFAQ.PDF.

Massachusetts State Unemployment Benefits Q&A

Posted by ttolliver on

Massachusetts

Massachusetts Department of Unemployment Assistance

Phone:            860-263-6975 or 203-455-2653 (for information but not for filing claims)

Website:         https://www.mass.gov/how-to/apply-for-unemployment-benefits

Who qualifies for unemployment?

Most workers will qualify for unemployment benefits, and during the COVID-19 emergency, eligibility will be determined on a case-by-case basis.  

When should I file for unemployment?

You should file as soon as possible.  Massachusetts has waived the normal requirement that you continue searching for work during the COVID-19 emergency.  You can only file for unemployment benefits online at the website listed above.

What if I don’t live and work in the same state?

You should file for unemployment in the state where you work.

What percentage of my pay will be replaced by unemployment benefits?

Your benefit rate will be approximately half of your average weekly wage up to a maximum of $823.  You also get $25 per dependent child up to an amount that is half of your UI check.  For a personalized estimate of your benefits, you can use this benefit calculator:  https://www.mass.gov/info-details/how-your-unemployment-benefits-are-determined#unemployment-benefits-determination-calculator-.  During the COVID-19 emergency, if you are eligible for benefits you will also receive an additional $600 per week until July 31, 2020.

What if I didn’t lose my job but am being scheduled to work fewer hours?

You can still apply for unemployment.  You will likely receive at least partial unemployment benefits if you are working part-time when you usually work full-time.

I have a different question about unemployment benefits.

You can look at this page answering some frequently asked questions for additional guidance: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/employee-unemployment-faq-covid-19#my-employer-has-shut-down-because-of-the-coronavirus?-should-i-apply-for-unemployment?-.

Who qualifies as an essential employee in Massachusetts?

For a list of essential workers and businesses in Massachusetts, please visit this website:  https://www.mass.gov/info-details/covid-19-essential-services.

What kind of paid sick leave or paid family leave do I get under state or federal law?

The new federal law requires your employer to provide 14 days of paid leave if you have coronavirus or if you are placed in quarantine to care for a family member who has coronavirus.  You must receive at least two-thirds of your wages during that 14-day period.  Some workers in Massachusetts have additional earned sick leave rights under state law.  For more information, please visit https://www.mass.gov/info-details/earned-sick-time.

receive UFCW International breaking information

Posted by ttolliver on

IB Image

SCAM ALERT!

Posted by on

IB Image

Syndicate content